

The South African Medico-Legal Association

STATEMENT BY THE SOUTH AFRICAN MEDICO-LEGAL ASSOCIATION ON VACCINATION AGAINST THE COVID-19 VIRUS, 28 July 2021

As a neutral and independent Organisation, SAMLA does not support, in any way, any view of its Members that oppose or that support the vaccination of individuals for the protection against the Covid-19 virus. SAMLA's position is that the choice to be vaccinated or not is a deeply personal one that should be guided by the advice and opinion of one's personal medical advisors. Therefore, it is not to be interpreted that SAMLA in any way, supports or refutes statements or publications by its Members for the Members and/or the general public regarding the principle and practice of vaccination against the Covid-19 virus.

As per the MOI of SAMLA, (3.2.7.5): The Company shall, in the achievement of its purpose:

3.2.7.5.1. promote freedom of expression, particularly section 16(1)(b), (c) and (d) of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa;

3.2.7.5.2. strive to actualise the rights to dignity, life, bodily- and psychological integrity and healthcare as entrenched in sections 10, 11, 12(2), 27(1)(a), 27(3), 28 (1)(c)(d) and 28(2) of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa; and

3.2.7.5.3. promote constitutional values of human dignity, the achievement of equality and the advancement of human rights and freedoms, non-racialism, non-sexism, the supremacy of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa and the rule of law, including access to courts or where appropriate another independent and impartial tribunal or forum in terms of section 34 of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa.

Prof Henry Lerm

Prof Ethelwynn Stellenberg

Non-executive President

National Chairperson

29 July 2021

29 July 2021

Non-Profit Company. Registration Number: 2005/013822/08 Web: www.medicolegal.org.za | I E-mail: info@samla.org.za

Directors: Prof Ethelwynn Stellenberg (National Chairperson); Adv J Barnardt (National Deputy Chairperson – Legal; Dr Sharon Munyaka (National Deputy Chairperson - Health Sciences); Mr Johan Jordaan (National Treasurer); Dr Karen Levin (Communications Director); Mr JP Venter (Administration Director); Prof Ramodungoane Tabane (Faculty Principal); Ms Philippa Styles (KZN - Branch Chairperson); Dr Thabiso Rapapali; (Free State –Branch Chairperson); Ms Romany Sutherland (Western Cape - Branch Chairperson); Ms Stacey Aires (Gauteng - Branch Chairperson); Ms Desiree David Deputy Chairperson ECP; Ms Barbara Donaldson; Mr Rowan Haarhof; Ms Grace Hughes; Mr Renier Jacobs; Dr Willem Moore; Ms Yvonne Raganya; Dr & Adv Anton Van den Bout; Dr Carlien van Heerden; Ms Gebri van Heerden.

Non-Executive President: Prof Henry Lerm